Safe Delete helps prevent accidental loss of important files. If a file is deleted outside of Mylio Photos, the app will attempt to restore it.
If an image is deleted on a device or service outside of Mylio Photos in Windows Explorer or macOS Finder, the app will try to locate a copy of the Original from another source (e.g., a Vault or another drive you’ve added to Mylio Photos that stores Original files) and restore it. If the app cannot locate a copy of the Original from another source, it will show this file as a Lost Original.
In Mylio Photos, Safe Delete is ON by default. If you choose to turn this option OFF, any photo or video deleted outside of Mylio Photos in your computer’s file system will also be permanently deleted inside the Mylio Photos app and across all synced devices.
Enabling or Disabling Safe Delete
- Open Mylio Photos and go to the Dashboard View.
- Select Devices, then choose a device.
- At the bottom of the Device Settings, toggle the Safe Delete option ON or OFF.
By default, when a photo or video is deleted outside of Mylio Photos in Windows Explorer or macOS Finder, Safe Delete will attempt to automatically restore the file. For additional control, you can set up Mylio Photos to offer you the option to Restore the file or Delete the media from your Mylio Account by enabling Show File Changes.
Enabling Show File Changes
- Open Mylio Photos, access the More menu and choose Settings.
- Select General.
- Toggle the switch next to Show file changes.