Safe Delete helps prevent accidental loss of important files. If a file is deleted in your file system, Mylio Photos+ will attempt to restore it from another device.
Suppose an image is deleted on a Vault device in Windows Explorer or macOS Finder. In that case, Mylio Photos+ will try to locate and restore a copy of the original from another source (e.g., another device you’ve added to Mylio Photos+ that stores original quality files). If the application cannot locate a copy of the original from another source, it will show this file as a Lost Original.
Safe Delete is ON by default. If you turn this option OFF, any photo or video deleted outside Mylio Photos in your file system will be permanently deleted from Mylio Photos+ and all synced devices connected to your Mylio account.
- Click the Dashboard icon in the left sidebar.
- Select Devices, then choose a device.
- At the bottom of the Device Settings, toggle the Safe Delete option ON or OFF.
By default, when a photo or video is deleted outside of Mylio Photos in Windows Explorer or macOS Finder, Safe Delete will attempt to restore the file automatically. For additional control, you can turn on Show File Changes. When ON, Mylio Photos+ will offer you the option to Restore the file or Delete the media from your Mylio Account if file system changes are detected.