Safe Delete helps prevent accidental loss of important files. If a file is deleted outside of Mylio, Mylio will attempt to restore it.
If an image is deleted on a device or service outside of Mylio in Windows Explorer or macOS Finder, the app will try to locate a copy of the Original from another source (e.g., a Vault or another drive you’ve added to Mylio that stores Original files) and restore it. If Mylio cannot locate a copy of the Original from another source, it will show this file as a Lost Original.
In Mylio, Safe Delete is ON by default. If you choose to turn this option OFF, any photo or video deleted outside of Mylio in your computer’s file system will also be permanently deleted inside the Mylio app and across all synced devices.
Enabling or Disabling Safe Delete
- Open Mylio and go to the Dashboard View.
- Select Devices, then choose a device.
- At the bottom of the Device Settings, toggle the Safe Delete option ON or OFF.
By default, when a photo or video is deleted outside of Mylio in Windows Explorer or macOS Finder, Safe Delete will attempt to automatically restore the file. For additional control, you can set up Mylio to offer you the option to Restore the file or Delete the media from your Mylio account by enabling Show File Changes.
Enabling Show File Changes
- Open Mylio, access the View Menu and choose Settings.
- Select General.
- Toggle the switch next to Show file changes.